fibrodreamer2014

I am not my disease

Let me say this, I may have fibromyalgia but, it does not have me. Yes, on this blog all I talk about is fibromyalgia; however, in my day to day life I talk very little about it. Yes, I have had to make adjustments to my life; however, these have been POSITIVE adjustments that have made me feel so much better! When I meet someone for the first time I don’t say: “Hi my name is (fill in the blank) and I have fibromyalgia”. Instead it usually goes “Hi my name is (fill in the blank). How are you? Whats new?” What I’m trying to get at is that I don’t let other people identify me as the “sick fibromyalgia girl”…I refuse to let that happen. If you ask anyone who knows me at Umass Amherst they’ll probably say: “She has so much energy! She’s nice, caring, helpful ect” Note: people have said this to me! I’m not making this up!! Very few people know about my condition which honestly is fine by me. I don’t want people to think that I can’t handle something or that it will be too much for me. Let me decided, I’m the one dealing and living with fibro not you. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still a daily struggle with me figuring out more and more what helps and what doesn’t help. But as long as I live I will not let fibro dictate my life! That’s my personal mission.

Stay strong spoonies ❤

This entry was published on October 5, 2014 at 3:00 pm. It’s filed under health, illness, support and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

